FAQ about our APIs

How can users be created via the API?

You can create or update multiple users at once by using the corresponding API request. All fields with the addition “required“ must be sent for each user; the other fields are optional.

It is also important to specify in the “login” field whether the users log in via SSO (“identity_provider”) or password (“password”). Please note, that “identity_provider” only needs to be included for SAML SSO. Please ask your Flip contact person what the correct value for “alias” is.

 

Do passwords for users have to be sent via the API, or when is this necessary?

Users who do not have SSO access need a password to log in to their employee app.

A temporary password is usually assigned when a user is created via the API. To achieve this, assign the “password “ in the “Create or update multiple users at once“ request under “login“ and set the field “temporary” to true.

The following password guidelines apply by default:

  • The password must not match the last 3 passwords of a user.
  • The password should have a minimum length of 8 characters.

If your company's password policy differs, please let your Flip contact know.

 

What is the identity provider link (“identity_provider”) for and how should it be set?

Please note, that “identity_provider” only needs to be included for SAML SSO.

The field “identity_provider” is used to correctly assign users who log in via SSO in the employee app. You will receive the “alias” needed in the request from your Flip contact person.

The “user_id” and the “username” are the login information for users that are configured in the company's Identity Management.

 

Why are users not automatically created via SSO?

If users are created automatically, important information is missing. For example, what role users have in the app or which groups they belong to.

 

Do all users have to be synchronized via the API?

All users do not necessarily have to be synchronized via API. They can also be created in the user administration, with our Flip Syncer or via Excel import. Nevertheless, we recommend creating all users uniformly via API, especially with a large number of users, to avoid manual errors.

Users can be updated via API using the “Create or update multiple users at once” request. The value for the field “username” and “external_id” must also be sent. The “username” and the “external_id” of existing users can be found out via the “Get all existing users” request.

Important: Users created in the app or via the Excel import do not have an external_id. To be able to synchronize them via API, the “username” must be sent in the “Create or update multiple users at once” request for a user. The user must also be given an “external_id”.

 

How can users be deactivated or deleted?

To deactivate a user, the field ”enabled” must be set to false via the “Create or update multiple users at once” request. As soon as a user is reactivated via enabled = true, he or she is provided access to the contents of the app again.

Users can be deleted with the “Delete multiple users at once using their externalId” request. The user then no longer has access to contents of the app.

 

What can I do if I have deleted one or more users accidentally?

Users who were accidentally deleted can be restored by using the “Create or update multiple users at once” request by specifying their previous “external_id” and “username”.

 

How can channels be created via the API?

Please note that “groups” means “channels” in the documentation. This is because the corresponding functionality was renamed after the API was published.

Groups can be created via API using the “Create or update multiple channels (previously groups) at once” request. All fields with the addition “required” must be sent for each group; fields without the addition “required” are optional.

 

How can existing channels be updated and populated via the API?

It can happen that channels were created manually via the employee app or the Excel import and are subsequently to be filled with users via the API. This can be done in three simple steps. If the groups were created via the API, step 3 is sufficient.

  1. Query channels: In this case, it is first necessary to query the “group_id” via the “Get all existing channels (previously groups)” request. All channels that do not have an “external_id” in the response were either created manually in the app via Excel import or via the Admin Dashboard.
  2. Assign external_id: Afterward, these channels must be assigned an “external_id” via the “Create or update multiple channels (previously groups) at once” request. To achieve this, the values from the previous request have to be used for “name” and “group_id” fields. In addition, you have to provide a value for “external_id”.
  3. Adding users to channels: To add the users to a channel, the “group_external_id” of this channel and the corresponding “group_role” (the role of the users in the channel), should be delivered in the field “group_membership”.

 

How can existing channels be deleted?

Channels can be deleted via the “Delete multiple channels (previously groups) at once” request by specifying the respective “external_id”.

 

What is the difference between “external_id” and “group_id” in context of channels?

The “group_id” is an internal ID that is automatically created by Flip.

When creating a group via the API, the “external_id”, which is assigned by the client, is the unique ID.

To make a manually created channel editable via the API and to be able to add users to this channel, the “group_id” must first be queried via the “Get all existing channels (previously groups)” request. Then it is necessary to give this channel an “external_id” and the channel “name” via the “Create or update multiple channels (previously groups) at once” request.

Was this article helpful?

0 out of 0 found this helpful

Have more questions? Submit a request

Comments

0 comments

Please sign in to leave a comment.